Rough Morning & the Kindness of Strangers

Standard

Let me first say that I just glanced at my “Drinkie, Drinkie” post and realize that I said I was giving a couple of examples and gave three. I know that’s one more than a couple. My bad. I don’t feel like editing it. Ok. Moving on. I am so frickin exhausted and front heavy with baby I can hardly stand it. Once a month we get our house cleaned and I am so appreciative. It has become a necessary extravagance. Seriously. Anyway, Baby J was in fine form this morning as I tried to pre-tidy. Every time I made some headway, he was there to drag things from a different part of the house and chuck it down or pull things from the cupboards… We didn’t even get to finish breakfast before they arrived. Yes, I know, cleaners are hired to clean, but still… I was a little frazzled. So they get here and I pack us up, breakfast and all, and head to Target to get a wedding shower gift for this coming weekend. It took almost 15 minutes to get out of the house because, with only 2 weeks to go, I have to go potty what feels like every 10 minutes and Baby J kept wanting to head back upstairs to see what they were doing.  We finally get on the road and in the almost 20 minutes it takes to get there, Baby J falls asleep. I didn’t want to waste the trip so I hoisted him up onto my very preggo belly and went in. He usually wakes up, but he must have been channeling my fatigue. He slept the entire time. By the time I got to the check out, my back was killing me (he weighs 24 lbs, not including the baby in my belly) and I was moving in slow motion (felt like I was, anyway). Then a lady at the checkout behind me came and asked if I needed any help going out to my car. Ever the martyr, I declined, but she wouldn’t take no for an answer. Than You God and the Universe!!!! Turns out that she has twins, so she could relate to the no hands free, worn down mess that was me.

You would think that this would be the end of that little tale, but it is not. As I was getting ready to back out, I realized that the very rear window was down and I could not get it to go back up. This on one of the coldest days (we woke to snow this morning) was enough to, literally, bring tears to my eyes. I just sat there and put my hands over my eyes and wept for a few minutes before I pulled my shit together. I remembered that my super responsible husband had the vehicles manual in the glove box. I dug it out and found out that the rear window won’t work if you have the child window locks engaged. Silly me. I pushed the child lock button, rolled the window up and headed home. Let me say that it was wonderful to be able to come home to a house that had been cleaned from top to bottom after that whole ordeal. The funny thing is that Baby J was completely oblivious to my suffering. This was the only store trip we’ve had together since he started walking where I wasn’t trying to keep him in the cart or divert his attention from some calamity or other. I’m chalking this up to me just being at that place in my pregnancy where I’m just over being pregnant. I am ready to have Baby B on the outside. Please and thanks. 🙂 I can smile now.

Leave a Reply

