birth preference?

Standard

So, I toured the hospital where I will be having Baby B in a few weeks. In spite of the lovely, high-tech surroundings I can’t seem to shake this concern that they are more concerned with their ability to continue with their standard, hands on methods of birthing. There have been a few too many conversations about my possibly needing their intervention via c-section or epidural. Today I learned that they call birth plans “birth preferences”. While I have always maintained that I am open whatever will be in the best interests of my health and the baby’s, I feel they should be focused on the very real possibility of things going smoothly. I’ve already had one child and that delivery went just fine. At that hospital, most of our wishes were followed and I don’t feel like my delivery was hijacked. Not so sure about what we are heading into. Time will tell. In the mean time, I intend to take my notarized birth PLAN to my next appointment and see what they have to say.

Off to bed for me.

One response »

Leave a Reply

